The good mix: cotton science and tireless commitment


Kristen Knight news release 06_07_11Toowoomba-based scientist, Kristen Knight, is a finalist in the 2011 Australian Cotton Industry Awards, to be presented at the industry’s annual gala dinner, Narrabri, in August.

Recognised for her tireless work in the pivotal area of insect resistance management, Monsanto’s Ms Knight, is one of three industry science specialists in contention for the Cotton Seed Distributors Researcher of the Year Award.

Monsanto Country Lead, Peter O’Keeffe says Kristen’s nomination is more than worthy. “Kristen has brought her exceptional technical and people-skills to the task.

“Managing the Helicoverpa Spp. monitoring program is a must-do for both industry and Monsanto to protect the long-term efficacy of the valuable Bollgard technology.

“In addition, Kirsten manages the company’s research into field survival on Bollguard II cotton, alternative refuges and entomological assessment of new traits.

“She also uses her excellent communication skills to ensure growers and advisors have an understanding of the science – and whilst all this work may not have an obvious, immediate dollar impact -it all builds long-term industry sustainability and efficiency.”

He adds that Kristen’s presentation of research and resistance monitoring in industry meetings has been essential in maintaining Monsanto’s strong position with the scientific and grower communities in Australia. “The entire Monsanto Company wishes her well come Award presentation day.”

“It’s great to see long time sponsor CSD’s ongoing commitment to this crucial industry award”.

The complete list of award categories and finalists are, (courtesy of Cotton Australia):

Monsanto Grower of the Year and AgriRisk Innovative Grower Award:

  • Donald and Douglas Crothers, Dirranbandi
  • Von Warner and Ed Willis, Thallon
  • Hamish Johnstone, Goondiwindi
  • Gordon and David Brownhill, Spring Ridge
  • Craig and Sharron Saunders Stuart and Maxine Armitage, Cecil Plains

Cotton Seed Distributors Researcher of the Year Award:

  • Dr Sharon Downes, Senior Research Scientist, CSIRO, Narrabri
  • Dr Warwick Stiller, CSIRO Plant Industry, Narrabri
  • Kristen Knight, Monsanto Australia Entomologist, Toowoomba

Chris Lehmann Trust Young Achiever of the Year Award.:

  • Fleur Anderson, Cahoots Communications, Theodore
  • Nick Gillingham, NG Agronomic Consultancy, Moree
  • Dr Rose Brodrick, CSIRO Plant Industry, Narrabri

The Australian Cotton Industry Awards dinner and presentation event will occur in Narrabri at The Crossing Theatre on Wednesday 10th August 2011. Tickets are on-sale at the end of June.


Keryn Mclean, Corporate Affairs Ph: 03 9522 7165 Mob: 0409 536 446
Michael Worthington, CEO, PMA A-NZ Mob 0409 181 034
Steve Ogden-Barnes, Unit Chair for Practicum and Internships Deakin Graduate School of Business, Deakin University Ph: 03 9244 5021

About Monsanto Company: Monsanto Company is a leading global provider of technology-based solutions and agricultural products that improve farm productivity and food quality. Monsanto remains focused on enabling both small-holder and large-scale farmers to produce more from their land while conserving more of our world’s natural resources such as water and energy. To learn more about our business and our commitments, please visit: